Skip to content ↓


Our ICT curriculum provides complete coverage of the computing programme of study delivering a broad and balanced curriculum throughout all Key Stages. 

ICT helps to improve achievement levels, inspire creative thinking and encourage the development of skills that will prove invaluable in the real world and as such teachers strive to present children with the opportunities to hone their skills and then use these skills in relevant situations. 

ICT allows our pupils to explore, observe, engage, solve problems and make exciting discoveries for themselves. It stimulates collaboration and interaction amongst peers and also between pupils and teachers. 

At St Mary Magdalene Peninsula our ICT resources not only provide the tools for promoting and developing these skills but also encourage pupils to engage confidently in imaginative learning across each of the three strands: 

Computer Science - children learn how devices (computers, tablets, phones etc) work and how to program. 

IT - children learn how to use technology purposefully and effectively. 

Digital Literacy - children learn about the many benefits and opportunities technology brings, but also the potential risks. 

To ensure we can facilitate these aspects, we have made, and continue to make, investments in our equipment. 

We have recently replaced all interactive whiteboards in our classes and now have a fully functioning computer suite. The iPads and tablets are also used in school to support teaching and learning in different curriculum areas. 

The Department for Education (DfE) have set out the objectives for the expectations in Computing at both Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2. 

Our Computing Curriculum Map is based on the learning outcomes for each year group. 

Computing Curriculum Map 

At St Mary Magdalene, we want to ensure that our pupils develop the necessary understanding, knowledge and skills that will set them on a path towards becoming confident and creative digital citizens. 

CLICK HERE to view the Koinonia Federation Computing Curriculum Map.

E Safety 

Following the introduction of the Computing curriculum in September 2014 it is the responsibility of all schools to teach e-safety. This will be through specific lessons and continuous provision, advice and support.

At Key Stage 1 

Children will be taught to use technology safely and respectfully, keeping personal information private; identify where to go for help and support when they have concerns about content or contact on the internet or other online technologies. 

At Key Stage 2 

Children will be taught to use technology safely, respectfully and responsibly; recognise acceptable/unacceptable behaviour; identify a range of ways to report concerns about content and contact

CLICK HERE to view the Computing Scheme of Work 

CLICK HERE to view the Primary National Curriculum for Computing